Internal link
 External link
North Shore Railroad Shortline of the Year - 2017 Photographer unknown.
12 February 2018
Shortline/Regional Railroad Award Entries Due 16 Feb 2018

North America - Railway Age is now accepting entries for its annual Shortline/Regional Railroad of the Year competition.
Shortlines and regionals, there are more than 600 of them, are invited to submit entries describing outstanding achievement in one or a combination of areas.
Small roads in Mexico, the U.S., and Canada are eligible for an award (and railroads can even nominate themselves).
Our 2018 winners will be awarded specially-designed plaques at the American Shortline and Regional Railroad Association Connections Convention in Nashville, Tennessee, 7-10 Apr 2018.
Articles describing their achievements will appear in Railway Age's March 2018 issue, which will be distributed at the show.
Railway Age also will work with the winners to publicize the awards in online and national media, as well as any in-house websites available.
Deadline for entries is Friday, 16 Feb 2018.
"More shortline and regional railroads are making themselves known to their local businesses, local chambers of commerce, and the general public as well, because they contribute to the economic vitality of their local and regional economies," says Senior Editor Stuart Chirls.
"As the nation's economy changes with the times, as it must, and turns toward rail for help, small railroads have done their part and then some.
Shortlines and regional railroads are innovators when it comes to turnaround situations, consistent excellence, streamlined operations, efficient maintenance, marketing, customer service, enhanced productivity, community relations, and safety improvement."
"Award winners in years past have ranged from large regionals spanning several states to small shortlines with single-digit mileage," says Chirls.
"In most years, separate awards have been given for regional and shortline carriers. They are the first and last mile, providing critical connections for the larger rail network."
Stuart Chirls.

Quoted by OKthePK website
under the provisions in
Section 29 of the Canadian
Copyright Modernization Act.
 Internal link          Internal link